暑期英語浸入式夏令營


正常修業期限: 4星期
授課語言: 英文
對象: 準大一新生

簡介


為期四週的暑期英語浸入式夏令營讓即將入學的準大一新生與來自世界各地的助教交流和體驗住宿式書院生活,以更好地適應日後的全英教學模式。

一連串密集的課程以互動教學為主,用遊戲的方式使學生敢於使用英語進行互動交流。同時每週將進行一次演示,提供公開發言的平台,訓練學生自信心。課後更有戲劇、美聲、瑜珈等興趣班,讓英語融入生活當中。

 

學生回饋

工商管理學院新生楊子軒認為,課程營造輕鬆的學習氣氛,以英語分享自己的興趣,更與組員到校外發掘新奇有趣的見聞後在課堂上和同學分享。他表示,當遇到不認識的詞彙時可利用簡單的字詞拼湊,儘量以表達自己為目標。經過四週的密集式上課,他覺得自己在聽讀寫方面都得到提升,尤其在與人交流時變得更為自信。

社會科學學院新生梁靖嵐表示,互動式教學做到很好的引導作用,帶領同學投入全英語學習氛圍。在學習的過程中,他意識到以往從課本上學習英語和生活上使用英語交流有較大的差異,因此更主動把握和外籍教師交流的機會。結業禮上,加入了美聲興趣班的他也參與了表演,跟大家分享學習的成果。

照片集

Summer English Immersion Programme


Duration: 4 Weeks
Medium of Instruction: English
Target: UM Incoming Students

Introduction


Summer English Immersion Programme is a four-week programme made for incoming first-year students. The programme aims to help students adapt to the English-speaking environment at UM. Participants have opportunities to exchange ideas with programme assistants from around the world and experienced living in the residential colleges.

The summer programme includes a series of intensive courses with interactive learning activities, including games designed to encourage students to communicate with each other in English. A weekly presentation class provides a platform for students to build up their confidence in public speaking. After class, students have a variety of extracurricular classes, including drama, singing, and yoga, to integrate English learning into their daily lives.

 

Student Feedback

Nick Yang, a freshman from the Faculty of Business Administration, says the programme created a relaxed learning atmosphere and he enjoyed sharing his interests and discoveries outside the university with his classmates in English. He also learned how to express an idea in alternative ways. After completing the intensive programme, Yang made significant progress in listening, reading, and writing, and became more confident in communication.

Mike Liang, a freshman from the Faculty of Social Sciences, says the interactive teaching method was very effective in guiding the students to immerse themselves in an English-speaking environment. In the process, he realised the huge differences between learning English from books and using English in real life, so he treasured the opportunity to communicate with foreign teachers. At the closing ceremony, Liang, who joined the singing class, gave a performance and shared what he had learned in the programme.

Photo Gallery